Our Training Courses
With all teen courses Ultrasafe's exclusive 3+ hr Hybrid Defensive Driving Course is included. This course focuses intensely on pro-active accident prevention techniques not taught anywhere. The course is completed in the drivers training vehicle during the driving portion. The required online classroom course is through Idaho Online Driver Education. click here for more info on the Hybrid Class and the Idaho Online Driver Education online class
Teen Driving Basic Course $440 (includes required IODE online class)
This is for students at least 15 who wish to get their supervised permit and eventually their Class D Drivers License. Although it says basic, our course is above and beyond typical driver training programs. Students drive a minimum of 7 hours and are introduced to enhanced defensive driving techniques including advanced scanning techniques, risk assessment & prioritization, lane position analysis, driver psychology, road/highway structure and design, problems with certain laws, the factors involved in collisions, secret techniques not taught anywhere, and many other topics. Students also learn very useful information known only by Class A CDL truckers and motorcyclists.
There are 7 drives. Currently we are only scheduling 1 student in the car at a time (unless they are siblings or friends). If your student is struggling we will do 2 hours of free driving to help them get where they need to be. Most schools charge $50 per hour for additional training.
Drives are 2 hours long. With the required parent observation drive students get almost 15 hours of in-car training.
Drives start at specific locations listed on the scheduling page. We can do home or school pick-up for an extra fee.
The last drive includes a required 60 minute parent observation drive and course wrap-up. This is extremely helpful for when you begin to supervise your student after driver training.
The IODE online class is required. This is considered the classroom portion of the course. We will complete the scheduled drives regardless of the students online progress.
The Enhanced Course is even better and a great deal. Most schools would charge over $600 for enhanced driving (if they even offered it). Students get 4 additional hours of even more diverse and challenging routes for $570. Text us if you are interested.
Boise High students and Enhanced Course students are taught parallel parking.
Enhanced Teen Driving $570 (includes required IODE online class)
More driving with us means safer driving when you begin supervised driving. The Enhanced Course includes the Teen Basic Course with 4 additional hours (2 drives) where students will drive in more challenging environments, have more time to fine-tune their skill before driving with parents, and have more opportunity to make defensive driving a habit. This is a great cost-saving option if you feel your student will need more than 7 drives (additional practice drives are $40/hr). We will also be able to discuss more driving laws and other important information. Students receive their permit after the 7 regular drives, then the student will do the 2 additional enhanced drives whenever their schedule allows which will apply to their 50 hour supervised driving requirement. This is the best deal in all driver education.
We can do anything you want. We usually do the following...
Additional Highway Driving w/ merging (To Simco Rd). Cruise Control is also taught.
Additional City Driving.
Other areas might include Hidden Springs, Harris Ranch, Eagle, and Highway 55.
These additional routes might let us pass other cars on 2 lane roads such as Hwy 55. Passing is rarely ever taught in driver education because most routes don't give the opportunity.
Parallel Parking & Backing-up Parking (combat parking)
Thru-turns, peripheral vision driving exercises, and enhanced scanning, evaluating, and anticipating of potential problems.
Focuses exclusively on building good defensive driving habits. The regular teen driving program only introduces these concepts.
Also allows more practice doing the basics such as speed control, lane changes, turns, and covering the break (very important because you won't have a passenger brake in your own vehicle).
After scheduling the 7 regular drives we will schedule the 2 additional enhanced drives.
17 and 18 Year Old Students -
Please note 17 and 18 year old students must take the same driving course as students under 17 which means you will schedule your drives the same way. After reading the information below please go to the Scheduling and Signup page to learn how to schedule your drives.
If you are...
17 and want to take our full, regular driving course (before you take the written test)-
You can choose to take the regular driver training course in which you will follow the same procedures as students under 17. When you go to the DMV you will tell them Ultra Safe Driving and they will mail us a Supervised Instruction Permit. A Supervised Instruction Permit allows you to drive only in a driver training car. No matter what age you are - you will only receive your permit after passing the driving and online class portion. You will be required to take the Idaho Online Driver Education online course. When the program is complete you can take your driving test at any time afterwards. The 6 month supervised driving period is not necessary. After the driving test you will take the envelope with your driving test evaluations to the dmv and then take the written test while you are there. Cost is $425. DMV Info Page
17 and want to get your permit first - and then take some driving lessons-
You can take the written test at the DMV in which you will receive an Instruction Permit allowing you to practice driving in any car. You will need to take all the required documents to the DMV. Once you receive your permit you will not need to take the online course but you will still do all the same drives as students under 17. Only go to the DMV when you are ready to take the written test (schedule an appoint to take it).
Cost is $400. DMV Info Page
18 and don't have a permit-
You must take our basic teen driving course (including online course) but you cannot be in a vehicle with someone under 18. All required documents at the DMV are the same as for 17 and under except for the parent/guardian requirement. Cost is $425. DMV Info Page
18 and have a permit, but with very little driving experience-
You are required to take our regular course (without the online course). You cannot be in a vehicle with someone under 18. Cost is $400.
Click here for more permit information if you are having trouble deciding whether to get your permit first (taking the DMV written test), or get your permit after completing driver training. 17 and 18 Year Old Info
Teen & Adults 19+ Practice Drives $100 for 2 - 2.5 hours
This training is for teens who need more training after driver education. Find driving times on the Scheduling Page and text us the times you'd like to drive.
19+...If you are an adult and wish to practice driving you must first go to the DMV and take their written test to get an Instruction Permit. Please do this step before contacting us. Once you have the permit please text us to see what open times are available. It is best to look at the openings listed on the Scheduling Page. Please refer to the Idaho Driver Manual for information on adults getting their permits or go to our DMV Info Page.
Advanced Freeway Driving $160 for 3 hours
Training is dedicated to freeway and major highways. Learn advanced merging, exiting, lane changing, and roadway techniques. You will learn a lot. Call or text us to find driving times. Can be one 3 hour drive, two 1.5 hour drives, or three 1 hour drives.
Simulated DMV Driving Test (evaluation drive) $50
Save yourself time and money by practicing the driving test before you take it. Includes 2 practice driving tests and additional training where it is needed. Even if you think you pass the driving test you will learn advanced techniques to help you stay extra safe. Total time for this drive is 1 - 1.5 hours. The average DMV driving test is 20 minutes. Call or text us to find driving times.
Night Driving $100 for 2 hours
Sometimes it's hard to practice driving at night - especially in the summer Night Driving practice is good for anybody wishes extra practice or wants some night driving time to satisfy the night driving requirement during the supervised driving period (after drivers ed). We typically drive Mondays - Thursdays 9:30 to 11:30 or 10 to midnight. Night drives are listed on the scheduling page but please feel free to text us to see if there are any times available that aren't listed.
Pre-Driver Education Parking Lot Practice $60 for 2 hours
Most parking lots, despite being private property, are off-limits to parents who wish to practice a little before drivers education. Also, parents can get into serious trouble if things don't go well practicing in a parking lot. The Parking Lot Practice course focuses exclusively on vehicle handling including smooth braking, acceleration to 25 mph, 45 to 135 degree turns, and u-turns. Students are taught push/pull and hand-over-hand steering techniques as well as releasing the steering wheel for a smoother execution ("letting it unwind on it's own"). They will also learn vehicle instruments and controls, the proper way to adjust mirrors, reference points for lane position, and an advanced backing-up technique. No matter which school you choose your student will start off with confidence and considerable less stress.
Update: We recently trained two students who took driver education through one of the larger schools in Boise. The students were never taught the proper way to steer and signed up for our practice drive (which is $100) in order to smooth out their steering and build confidence. I'm glad they texted me but unfortunately this should never have happened in the first place. Many of the larger driver education schools are so rigidly structured that they cannot offer extra drives for students who are struggling. Or they feel the student will eventually learn the proper way to steer. While it is true that students who are not taught proper steering can eventually learn it - but "eventually" can easily be 6 months to a year. Do you want your student to struggle with driving for 6 months to a year before they actually learn how to steer properly and build confidence? Imagine if every right turn you're about to do you get knots inside your stomach? How can a teen drive in today's traffic with confidence if they struggle with basic turns? If you have a feeling that your student will struggle with basic vehicle control during driver training please text us. Also the larger driving schools will often not tell you if a student is struggling and most don't offer a parent observation drive so you can see if additional coaching is needed in a particular area. A parent recently told us that her daughter was "on the verge of tears after every drive she did with (driving company), but I can tell with you she definitely has more confidence".
Call or text us to find driving times..